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Notice to Readers 

This report provides summaries of new laws (public acts and special acts) significantly affecting 

veterans and the military enacted during the 2021 regular session and June 2021 special session 

(JSS). OLR’s other Acts Affecting reports are, or will soon be, available on OLR’s website: 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/olr/actsaffecting.asp. 

 

Each summary indicates the public act (PA) or special act (SA) number. Not all provisions of the 

acts are included. The report does not include vetoed acts unless the veto was overridden. 

Complete summaries of public acts are, or will soon be, available on OLR’s website: 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/olr/olrpasums.asp. 

 

Readers are encouraged to obtain the full text of acts that interest them from the Connecticut State 

Library, House Clerk’s Office, or General Assembly’s website: http://www.cga.ct.gov. 

Cover image by Freepik from Flaticon.com 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/olr/actsaffecting.asp
https://www.cga.ct.gov/olr/olrpasums.asp
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Benefits Eligibility  

Expanded Definition of Veteran and Establishment of a Qualifying 

Review Board  

This session, the legislature extended state veterans benefits to individuals released from service 

with an other than honorable (OTH) discharge whose sexual orientation, gender identity, or gender 

expression is determined to be more likely than not the primary reason for the OTH discharge. The 

law establishes a Qualifying Review Board to determine whether the veteran’s discharge meets the 

law’s criteria. Veterans whose applications are approved through the review board process are 

eligible to apply for state-based veterans benefits, including bonus points on state civil service 

exams, property tax exemptions, and tuition waivers at the state’s public colleges and universities 

(PA 21-79, effective October 1, 2021). 

 

Veteran Funeral Expenses 

A new law defines the funeral expenses eligible for the state burial benefit for indigent veterans. By 

law, when a veteran dies and does not leave enough money to pay for burial expenses, as 

determined by the veterans commissioner after consulting with the appropriate probate court, the 

state must pay $1,800 toward his or her funeral expenses for burial or cremation. Under the new 

law, “funeral expenses” mean the cost of (1) cash advances paid by the funeral director; (2) funeral 

services and funeral merchandise (e.g., alternate containers, caskets, urns, vaults, and outer burial 

containers); (3) burial, cremation, or disposition; and (4) publishing an obituary (PA 21-112, 

effective October 1, 2021). 

 

Veterans’ Benefits for Hmong Laotian Veterans 

Under a new law, members of the Hmong Laotian special guerilla units that served during the 

Vietnam War in the U.S. secret war in the Kingdom of Laos are now eligible for certain veterans’ 

benefits. This includes (1) veterans’ license plates, (2) veteran status on a driver’s license or 

identity card, (3) $1,800 toward funeral expenses or cremation for certain indigent veterans, and 

(4) the Connecticut Veterans Wartime Service Medal. The act also allows these Hmong veterans to 

be buried in a state veterans’ cemetery, which conforms with existing federal law and state 

Department of Veterans Affairs (DVA) policy. 

 

Under the act, to claim these benefits the member (or other applicant, as applicable) must submit a 

request to the DVA and provide the department with (1) an affidavit stating when and where the 

member served and the unit and capacity in which they served; (2) corroborating witness affidavits, 

if available; (3) any available official service documentation; and (4) any other supporting 

documents (PA 21-51, effective October 1, 2021). 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2021&bill_num=79
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2021&bill_num=112
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2021&bill_num=51
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Education 

College Campus Mental Health Coalitions 

Under a new law, each higher education institution in Connecticut, excluding Charter Oak State 

College or online institutions, must establish a mental health coalition by January 1, 2022, to 

assess the presence of mental health services and programs offered by the institution. It requires 

each institution to ensure that coalition members are educated on the protocols and techniques to 

respond to student mental illness that have been developed with consideration given to the 

students’ status as a veteran or U.S. armed forces member, among other things (PA 21-132, § 3, 

effective July 1, 2021). 

 

College Credit for Military Training  

A new law requires, by July 1, 2022, and every five years thereafter, each higher education 

institution’s governing body to review and update its policies on awarding college credit for a 

student’s military training, coursework, and education (PA 21-132, § 1, effective July 1, 2021). 

 

Public School Enrollment and Services for Military-Connected 

Students  

Under a new law, boards of education must accept certain military orders indicating a member’s 

transfer to the state as proof-of-residency for public school enrollment purposes, enabling military 

members’ children to meet registration and application deadlines in advance of their physical 

relocation to the state. The law additionally requires the State Board of Education, within available 

appropriations, to establish a Purple Star School Program to designate schools that provide specific 

support services and assistance for military-connected students and their families (e.g., a 

designated military liaison, a student-led transition program, and staff training) (PA 21-86, effective 

July 1, 2021). 

 

Employment 

Military Spouse Professional Licensure 

A new law makes it easier for health care professionals and various tradespeople and other 

professionals licensed in other states (including military spouses) to obtain a Connecticut credential 

if they reside here. It does so by generally requiring the Department of Public Health (DPH) or 

Department of Consumer Protection (DCP) to issue the appropriate license or other credential to a 

state resident, or a spouse of an active duty service member permanently stationed here, if that 

person meets specified experience and background requirements (e.g., has no disciplinary history). 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2021&bill_num=132
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2021&bill_num=132
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2021&bill_num=86
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It allows DPH or DCP, as applicable, to deny a credential if the commissioner finds it to be in the 

state’s best interest (PA 21-152, §§ 1 & 4, effective October 1, 2021). 

 

Military to Machinists Program Funding 

This year’s budget implementer act removed Workforce Training Authority Fund expenditures as a 

funding source for the Military to Machinists Program. This pilot program assists veterans with the 

cost of attendance for qualified advanced manufacturing certificate programs  (PA 21-2, June 

Special Session (JSS), § 248, effective July 1, 2021). 

 

Priority Applicants for Economic Development Financial Assistance  

A new law requires the Department of Economic and Community Development (DECD) 

commissioner to prioritize applicants for economic development financial assistance (i.e., DECD-

approved grants, loans, loan guarantees, or combination) that demonstrate a willingness to make 

jobs available to certain individuals, including veterans (PA 21-188, § 2, effective October 1, 2021).   

 

Motor Vehicles  

Commercial Driver’s License Knowledge Tests for Eligible Veterans 

and Service Members 

New legislation authorizes the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) commissioner to waive 

commercial driver’s license (CDL) knowledge tests at her discretion for eligible veterans and active 

duty service members who meet conditions set by federal regulation. By law, the commissioner 

must waive the CDL driving skills test for such applicants who meet similar conditions (PA 21-106, 

§ 9, effective July 1, 2021). 

 

Fee Waiver for Veterans 

A new law authorizes the DMV commissioner to waive driver’s license and identity card renewal or 

duplication fees for certain veterans while attending a DVA-hosted one-day event that offers 

services, supplies, or assistance to veterans (PA 21-106, § 50, effective upon passage). 

 

License Plates for Veterans and Armed Forces Members With Wartime 

Service 

A new law requires DMV to issue special license plates indicating service during certain statutorily-

defined periods of war at the request of any veteran or armed forces member who received a 

campaign medal. The plates must bear the words “(Name of War) Veteran.” The DMV commissioner 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2021&bill_num=6449
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/CGAbillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1202&which_year=2021
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?which_year=2021&selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=188
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2021&bill_num=106
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2021&bill_num=106
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must charge an additional fee for the plate that covers its entire production cost. The plates expire 

and must be renewed in the same manner as other existing license plates.  

 

Under the act, a veteran’s or armed forces member’s surviving spouse may retain the plates for his 

or her lifetime or until he or she remarries. If an armed forces member is dishonorably discharged, 

he or she must return the plates to DMV within 30 days after his or her discharge date (PA 21-106, 

§ 49, effective January 1, 2022). 

 

Replacement Veterans’ Plates 

Under existing law, the DMV commissioner generally must charge a fee of $20 to replace vehicle 

plates. A new law establishes a specific fee of $15 for replacing veterans’ plates that become 

mutilated or illegible (PA 21-106, § 40, effective July 1, 2021). 

 

State Militia  

Governor’s Authority to Raise a Connecticut State Guard   

A new law authorizes the governor, at any time, to raise, organize, maintain, and govern the 

Connecticut State Guard. The prior law required the governor to take such action only when the 

Connecticut National Guard was called into the federal service or believed that such a call was 

imminent (PA 21-2, JSS, § 282, effective October 1, 2021). 

 

Organizational Structure of the State’s Militia Units 

A new law eliminates the requirement that each organization of the state’s armed forces adopt 

bylaws. It instead requires the governor, as commander-in-chief of the state’s militia, to configure 

and administer the state’s militia units similar to National Guard or federal military units of similar 

composition, size, and purpose. It also allows the adjutant general to issue bylaws, regulations, 

orders, and circulars to administer the militia units.  

 

The act also eliminates provisions related to the bylaws, including those on the (1) collection of 

fines and dues, (2) leadership of associations created in the bylaws, and (3) election and bond 

requirements of the organization’s treasurer (PA 21-158, effective October 1, 2021). 

 

Miscellaneous 

Creation of a Veterans and Military Tourism Trail   

A new law allows the DVA to establish a (1) veterans and military tourism trail that links museums, 

memorials, battleground sites, and other historic sites related to veterans and the U.S. Armed 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2021&bill_num=106
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2021&bill_num=106
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/CGAbillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1202&which_year=2021
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2021&bill_num=158
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Forces and (2) program to publicize the trail and publish an informational brochure on the trail 

sites’ locations and histories, provided the DVA commissioner solicits private donations to cover 

their costs (PA 21-105, effective July 1, 2021). 

 

Group Fishing License 

A new law increases the number of participants allowed under a group fishing license from 50 to 

100 people. By law, the Department of Energy and Environmental Protection may issue a group 

fishing license to a 501(c)(3) tax-exempt organization to conduct up to 50 group fishing events per 

year for qualified individuals, including disabled veterans (PA 21-12, § 3, effective upon passage). 

 

 

JSH:kl 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2021&bill_num=105
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2021&bill_num=6384

